Miki Japanese Restaurant

Contact Information

106 S. First Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Health Report - 03/24/2015 (0 critical incident(s))

This incident (69097) does not have any more information on it

Health Report - 02/24/2015 (6 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I observed all of your squueze bottles dirty on the clean storage rack. I also observed some other storage containers and lids dirty. I want you to pull all items off the back untensil storage rack and re-clean them all. . . . Be sure staff are thoughly washing, rinsing and sanitizing. I will be back to verify things are clean and stored in an organized manner.

(Critical) I found cleaners and handsoap stored with foods in cabinets on the sushi bar line. Chemicals need to be stored safely away from foods and food contact items. Corrected by putting all chemicals in a container and storing in safe spot under the far handsink on the sushi line.

(Critical) Test papers stored outside of plastic protective container and paper is yellow, giving false readings. You need to get new test papers and keep them in protected location and manner. I will be back to verify you have them.

(Critical) There is a large bin of unknown chemical used to remove heavily soiled pots and pans. You need to label this bin with contents. You also need to be sure this cleaner is approved for cleaning food contact items. I will be back in 30 days to verify you have this corrected.

(Critical) Your stainless steel prep table has gaps in it that are in need of re-sealing with a food grade sealant. I will be back in 30 days to verify you have done this.

(Critical) I found 2 spray bottles made out of hot sauce bottles with an unknown chemical in them. You need to properly label spray bottles with common name of contents within. Corrected by discarding.

Sushi chefs need to wipe knives with paper towels, not cloth towels that are left sitting out on prep boards.

There is a large amount of used grease stacked up by the back door in grease containers. You need to have a grease barrel dropped at your site for disposal of all the grease you generate. I will be back in 30 days to verify you have a grease barrel.

The fiberboard wall tile is deteriorating and coming loose in several areas of your kitchen. There also is signifacant damage to wall coving. You need to replace all damaged areas with approved wall covering (frp) and coving tiles. I will be back in 30 days to verify this has been done.

I want you to remove all of the things that you have stored in your facility that are not a part of your restaurant business. I am coming back in 30 days to see that all these items have been removed and that your facility is tidy and organized.

I found a substantial amount of employee foods stored in coolers with customer foods. If you are going to have personal foods of this quantity, you need to have a designated cooler just for staff foods. The plan is to use the refrigerator in the basement exclusively for staff foods. Label this cooler as such.

Replace the deeply grooved wood cutting board on the sushi line. If using wood, it needs to be a hardwood, such as maple or oak.

The interior and exterior of both of your microwaves are dirty. Staff need to be cleaning them often!

Repeat violation 2 times in a row! you need to be cleaning your facility better and much more often. All of the floors in hard to reach areas under equipment and racks are dirty. All of your cooking equipment is dirty. I will be back in 30 days to verify your facility has been thoroughly cleaned.

You need to remove all of the carpeting in the storage areas in the basement.

I found a significant number of small food storage containers stacked together while wet. You need to have the space to let your ware air dry before stacking.

Health Report - 08/19/2014 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I observed several of the sushi roll items, open cut lettuce bags, opened whipped creams, tofu not date marked. Staff need to be date marking these items. Corrected by dating.

(Critical) 2 of the 3 sushi display cases were found with temps of 52 and 70*f and foods were found between 47* and 53*f. All foods out of temp were discarded. Staff need to be monitoring temperatures inside these units and not be stocking food in them until thermometers are reading 40*f or below. I want you to create a detailed temp log so staff can be logging temps throughout the day. Units will need to be turned on upon arrival of first staff to work in the mornings. Before i left, all units were below 41*f. Corrected.

The main line cooking equipment and the walls and floors under the equipment was visibally very dirty. Staff need to do a better job of cleaning these areas daily.

A mop head was left in the mop sink basin and a mop bucket was left unemptied in the basement. Staff need to keep these areas clean and empty mop buckets.

A window was opened in the kitchen without any screening to keep out insects. Keep windows closed unless you supply tight fitting screen.

You need to post handwash reminder signs in all restrooms and at the 2 handsinks at the sushi bar.

Garbage was being kept inside the store in large bins overnight and attracting small flies. You need to use the dumpster outside the building to be discarding your refuse before leaving for the night. Also, keep the garbage bins cleaned.

I observed small flies at the bar and in the basement around the garbage bins. You need to keep the bar area really clean and empty trash to the outside dumpster everyday and keep garbage bins clean.

Health Report - 02/12/2014 (7 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I observed a sushi chef use the handwash sink to wash a bowl in. Also, the main line handwash sink was blocked by boxes of food. Handsinks are to be used for handwashing only and must always be accessible. Anything that needs to be washed must be run back to the auto dishmachine. Corrected through education and moving boxes of food.

(Critical) Repeat violation 2 times in a row. Complete the risk control plan and fax into me within 10 days. Once again, i found cut cabbage, lettuce and sprouts out on counter and at temps of 52*f to 56*f. Must be held at 41*f or less at all times, therefore you need to keep in the coolers. Corrected by stocking into coolers.

(Critical) The deli slicer was observed dirty. Staff need to take this unit apart and thoroughly wash, rinse and sanitize it after uses. Corrected by doing such.

(Critical) 3 containers of pine sol found stored on rack with food contact items. You need to store your toxic items seperate from foods and food contact items. Corrected by doing such.

(Critical) Repeat violation 2 times in a row. Once again, there was no thermometer in the far right sushi display cooler. Be sure you have thermometers in all coolers and you are taking temps of all coolers at least 2 times per day.

(Critical) I found raw fish on top shelf above ready to eat foods in the 4 door upright cooler and raw beef on a keg of beer in the walk in cooler and raw shrimp above cut leafy greens in the main cook line cooler. You need to store raw animal product below and not directly next to any ready to eat foods. Corrected by doing such.

(Critical) Sanitizer was too strong at the main cook line. Keep at 50-100ppm and use test strips to verify. Corrected by adjusting to 100ppm.

Your facility does not have anyone that works in this store that is certified in food safety. Within 90 days you must have someone certified and fax into me at 222-3930.

Boxes of to go items found stored on floor in the basement. Store them on racks at least 6" off the floor.

Replace all the cooler gaskets that are splitting.

I want all the rusty storage racks in the far back room replaced within 30 days.

One of the fans in the walk in cooler is not working and must be repaired within 7days. This is crucial to maintain safe temps in walk in cooler.

Bins of food found stored too close to the handwash sink at the main cook line. Do not store any foods or food contact items near the handsink, due to splash.

Health Report - 08/06/2013 (6 critical incident(s))

(Critical) This facility had no metal stemmed thermometer. You need to obtain several tapered tip, metal stemmed digital thermomters and train your chefs to use them! i will be back in 2 weeks to verify you have these thermometers and they are in use!

(Critical) I watched a cook handle raw chicken with hands and then proceed to wipe hands on a cloth towel hanging on his apron and then plate up food, creating several cross contamination routes. Cooks need to wash hands after handling raw animal product to prevent this risk. Corrected by talking to cook and having him do such. Do not have cooks have cloth towels on their aprons to wipe hands on.

(Critical) I watched a cook cut and handle cooked chicken that was then plated on a salad with his bare hands. Bare hand contact with ready to eat foods in not permitted. Managers need to be sure staff are using the provided gloves! corrected by doing such.

(Critical) Cooks were observed using the same tong to handle raw meats and handle fully cooked meats. You need to have a system for your tongs that has seperate tongs for raw meats/fish and cooked off meats or fish. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify how you are controlling this.

(Critical) I watched a cook go to a prep sink and rinse his hands under water without using soap after handling raw meats. Staff must go to a handsink and use soap and wrm water to wash hands. Corrected by doing such. Managers need to be more involved in overseeing staff.

(Critical) I found cut leaf lettuce, shredded cabbage, several mayo based sauces sitting out on counters at food prep areas. These items are all potentially hazardous and must be kept in coolers and held at 41*f or less at all times. Staff need to be held accountable to do this. Corrected by modifying staff habits and keep all of the above in coolers.

You need ambient air thermometers in all coolers. There are not any in the far right sushi display case or the small refrigerator on the sushi line. Staff need to be taking temps in all coolers at least 2 times per day to assure temps are 41*f or colder.

Once again, i observed leaf lettuce wrapped in newspaper. You were told not to practice this on a previous inspection. You need to use paper towels for this and be sure newspapers are not used again.

Need to shield florescent lights in the basement where dry goods are stored.

Walk in cooler was found at 44*f and was due to this cooler being overstocked. Boxes of produce were completely impeding return cold air flow into the cooler. You must limit amount of foods ordered so cooler is not overstocked. Corrected by moving boxes and cooler came down to below 41*f.

Several of the racks by the dishwash area are rusty and need to be replaced within 6 months.

Replace food storage containers that are cracked and damaged.

Health Report - 02/04/2013 (0 critical incident(s))

No certified food safety manager. Fax over copy of manager that you said has a serve safe cert. Fax over by 2/10/13

Health Report - 07/31/2012 (1 critical incident(s))

(Critical) Large stock pots were found stored right next to the dishmachine chemicals. Do not store foods or food contact items near chemicals to avoid cross contamination of toxic chemicals. Corrected by moving pots to clean utensil storage racks.

Please invert your pots, pans, bowls, and tubs so the water drains out of them in storage.

Please don't wrap lettuce in newspaper. Use plain white or brown paper towels.

You need to install more sewer troughs under the srain lines that are over your deep freezer in the basement.

Containers of food found stored on the floor in the walk in freezer and just outside the sushi bar door. Keep foods at least 6" off floor on storage racks.

I observed some drain flies in your kitchen. I'd like you to have a pest company get you on a program to treat your drains and make other recommendations to get rid of the flies. Move the fly tapes to safer areas i explained to you.

Health Report - 01/31/2012 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) Marinating raw beef was stored right next to salad dressings in the walk in cooler. You need to keep raw animal/seafood product seperated from any ready to eat foods. Corrected by rearranging cooler to be in compliance.

(Critical) The water line coming into the dipper well needs to be secured permanently to provide an air gap of at least 1" above the spill rim of the well. Also, you need a vacuum breaker on the mop sink faucet. Have both of this done within 10 days. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify it has been done.

Repeat violation 2 times in a row. You must provide light shields on florescent lights in the basement where you have food/beverages stored. Also, need a shatterproof light bulb in the storage closet in the basement. Have this done within 10 days. I will be back to verify in 2 weeks.

Do not store foods on floor in walk in cooler. Keep on racks at least 6" above floor.

Staff had not made up a batch of new sanitizer for the wiping cloth bucket at the sushi bar. Be sure they do this before they start any food prep.

Repeat violations 2 times in a row. Once again, the interior of the microwaves were found dirty. Staff must be cleaning and sanitizing often throughout the day.

The raw wood shelves need to be sealed with paint or varnish in the storage closet in the basement.

Cases of tofu stored under the handsink on the line. Store them in a protected area. Corrected. In the basement, you have beer stored under unprotected sewer lines. You need to provide troughs under sewer lines that are over where you have food or beverage or food contact items stored.

Please mount a paper towel holder at the far end handsink of the sushi bar.

Observed staff thawing frozen fish on counter at sushi bar. Thaw product immersed under cold running water.

Health Report - 07/25/2011 (3 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I observed the back of the meat slicer blade dirty. Staff need to be taking apart the slicer and washing, rinsing and sanitizing the in place cleaning of the slicer. Corrected by doing such.

(Critical) I observed several utensils that were dirty in a bin under the microwave. I also observed dirty pots and blenders on a rack right across from the drainboard where dirty dishes are brought. You need to move any cleaned items out of this area. Corrected by cleaning all dirty items and moving to a protected location.

(Critical) There is not a consistent date marking system in place here. You need to be date marking all of the sushi items, opened milks, pasta salads. Use make/open dates and expiration dates (add 6 days to make dates). . . Corrected by doing so while present.

Provide light shields and end caps on florescent lights in the basement storage areas.

Please clean the inside of the dish tank more frequently.

Staff need to wipe out the interior of the microwaves with sanitizer cloths often throuhgout the day.

Please clean the floor drains, including the collanders used to collect food debris on a daily basis. Also, night crew needs to clean dirty ware before leaving. Do not leave dirty kitchen ware overnight as it attracts pests.

Health Report - 01/05/2011 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) Slicer parts not sanitized after cleaning. Utensils and food-contact surfaces of equipment shall be sanitized before use after cleaning. Critical corrected: at time of inspection observed slicer parts being washed and rinsed in food-prep sink and being placed back on slicer. Interrupted food employee to properly wash, rinse and sanitize slicer parts. Employee placed slicer parts in automatic warewashing machine. Discussed with owner and employees to discontinue use of food prep sink for cleaning dishes and utensils. Instead employees will use 3-compartment sink (wash, rinse, sanitize); chlorine sanitizer available or automatic warewashing machine. Provided pic with manual warewashing sticker to place near 3-comp sink. Removed soap from food prep sink

(Critical) Rice found in rice warmer rear kitchen from previous evening at 106°F. Potentially hazardous food shall be maintained at 41°F or below or 135°F or above. Critical corrected: at time of inspection discarded rice in rice warmer. Pic not clear whether employee left rice warmer on all night or unplugged unit. In future please discard rice at end of each day or leave rice warmer on all night to maintain rice at 135°F or above

These areas in need of cleaning: oven catch tray, base of soup burner, interior top section of microwave ovens and floors in some areas rear kitchen (especially under fryers). Please clean now and place on routine cleaning schedule.

Handwash sink not accessible for handwashing at waitress station. Please discontinue storing coffee pots in handwash sink. Consider installation of barrier on each side of handwash sink

Bulk food bin lids cracked. Please replace to provide smooth, easily cleanable surfaces

Some food employees found without hair restraints.

Ice scoop laying in ice at waitress station ice bin. Please store ice scoop in a clean, protected location

Please provide paper towels in paper towel dispenser at sushi bar handwash sink

No chlorine test kit available to monitor chlorine concentration. Please provide chlorine test kit