Bearclaw Coffee Co. (Chelsea)

Contact Information

12855 East Old Us. 12 #8
Chelsea, MI 48118

Health Report - 06/28/2012 (0 critical incident(s))

Found one probe thermometer in the front case to be in need of calibration. Corrected - pic calibrated the thermometer at the time of this inspection

Health Report - 12/29/2011 (0 critical incident(s))

There is currently no one at this establishment that is serv safe certified. To correct - someone must be serv safe certified within 90 days (march 30, 2012). Information for the classes was given to staff at the time of the inspection

Found wet mop draped over the side of the mop sink. The mop hanger on the wall is broken. To correct - replace broken mop hanger to provide proper hanging of wet mops which allows for faster drying of mops and in turn reduce bacteria which can grow in the wet environment

Health Report - 07/12/2011 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I observed the front display cooler holding product at 50*f. The condenser is frosted up. All phf's were pulled out of this unit. Repair within 10 days and do not store any phf's in this unit. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify unit is fixed and holding <41*f. Staff need to start using chart i left to document cooler temps on a daily basis.

(Critical) Your sanitizer solutions were found too strong (400ppm). You need to keep them at 200 ppm. Develop a "recipe" for making up sanitizer solutions and use test papers to verify. Corrected on site by adjusting to proper level.

Please hang up the mop after uses to facilitate rapid drying

Wiping cloth kept sitting out on counter at espresso machine. Keep in sanitizer bucket of 200 ppm quat between uses to disinfect the wiping cloth.

Keep boxed to go items off the floor and on racks.

There were no qt-10 quat test papers here. Keep stocked so staff can use to verify proper sanitizer strength.

Health Report - 01/06/2011 (1 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I found a badly dented can of syrup. As discussed, severely damaged cans may have lost their seal and become hazardous. Inspect each can for damage on the ends, body and seal, do not put them on the shelves if they are damaged. Damaged cans must be returned for credit or discarded. Corrected at the time of inspection. The can has been removed from stock.

Health Report - 01/21/2010 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I learned that there are no approved sanitizers on site. It is critical that utensils are properly washed, rinsed and sanitized. Failure to do so, can result in harmful bacteria remaining on these items. Corrected at the time of inspection. The pic obtained a supply of bleach.

(Critical) I found a container of raid insecticide. Insecticides designed for home use, are not allowed. All insecticides must be designated commercial and approved for use in food service operations. Corrected at the time of inspection. The raid has been discarded.

I observed that a container of sugar is not labeled. Label all food containers as indicated above.

This incident (1972) does not have any more information on it

Health Report - 08/05/2009 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I observed that the top of a pipe, inside the ice bin, is very dusty. Ice is a food. Therefore, the interior of the ice machine, ice bin must be kept clean, to avoid possible contamination of the ice. The ice bin must be cleaned carefully and frequently. Increase the cleaning frequency of the ice bin. Corrected at the time of inspection. The ice bin has been cleaned, as directed.

(Critical) This incident (1974) does not have any more information on it

The inside of the microwave oven needs to be cleaned. Corrected at the time of inspection. The oven has been cleaned.

The thermometer inside the reach-in under the espresso machine is not vis able. Relocate the thermometer so it can be seen

Health Report - 03/02/2009 (0 critical incident(s))

The bottom of a large refrigerator, needs to be cleaned.