Live, The Last Word Dba

Contact Information

102 S. First Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Health Report - 03/13/2015 (0 critical incident(s))

This incident (68655) does not have any more information on it

Health Report - 02/24/2015 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) Both ice bins in the basement bar are no longer air gapped. You need to permanently air gap them within 10 days and send me a picture to both lines so i can see they are air gapped.

(Critical) Raw shell eggs and cold smoked salmon were found stored above ready to eat foods in the reach in cooler and upright cooler. Also, a case of eggs was delivered with the eggs above cases of produce. Raw animal/seafood product needs to always be stored below ready to eat foods to control the risk of cross contamination. Corrected by storing properly.

Both handsinks in the kitchen were found dirty. Staff need to keep the handsinks cleaned and sanitized for effective handwashing.

You need to clean better, especially in hard to reach areas like under the cooking equipment, coolers, racks, bars etc. Also, you need to be cleaning the floor drains more often in your facility. Put these on a more frequent cleaning schedule.

Both of the bar floors have been re-surfaced. Thanks for getting on that. You need to be sure to install some coving at the floor wall juntures to keep water from getting behind the walls/bars.

By your next routine inspection, the interior of the smaller walk in cooler needs to be re-built

The handsink by the 3 comp sink/prep area is plugged. You need to keep the handsinks functional at all times to assure frequent handwashing can occur. Plumber is due out this afternoon.

Health Report - 08/27/2014 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I found a half a wheel of brie with an expiration date of 8/7. Kitchen staff need to audit dates and discard expired foods on time. Corrected by discarding.

(Critical) A new ice machine was put in and both drain lines out of it are not air gapped. Also, one of the drain lines out of an ice bin at the basement bar is not air gapped. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify all these lines are air gapped.

You have a large number of small flies where you keep your bottle and can returns. Returns need to be picked up on monday so they don't sit in your store all week. . . Current pick up is on fridays only. Keep bags tied off at night before leaving. Contract with a pest company to eliminate the current population in your facility.

Ice scoop found stored on top of the ice machine. Tops of ice machines are typically not clean, as in this case. Obtain an ice scoop holding. Also, do not store ice buckets on the ground or dirty surfaces. Put up some hooks on the wall and hang buckets after uses.

Repeat violation 2 times in a row. Once again, the mop sink room is not clean nor organized. To avoid an office conference next time, please be sure this room has been cleaned and all items are up and off the floor in there. Hang up the mops and brooms/dustpans.

Repeat violation 3 times in a row. You will be called in for an office conference if this isn't corrected by next inspection. You need to eliminate the gaps on exit doors. I found a gap on the middle exit door by the can return area and at the live entrance door. You have small flies in your store and you need to eliminate the entry points.

Repeat violation 2 times in a row. Must be corrected by next routine inspection to avoid an office conference. The main bar floor has not been resurfaced so it is smooth and easily cleanable. Also, there is still tile work and coving that must be done in the main kitchen by next inspection to avoid an office conference.

Health Report - 02/26/2014 (3 critical incident(s))

(Critical) The large ice machine in the kitchen is not air gapped. Provide the required air gap and send me a pic by 3/12/14.

(Critical) The small ice machine in the kitchen has black flecks in the ice and the deflector plate has black slime growing on it. Also, the ice bins in the upper bar were found very dirty and one had broken glass in the ice. Also, the utensils at the upper bar are stored in a pan that had stagnant dirty water in the bottom. Staff need to remember they need to clean and sanitize the ice bins at least once per week and for sure after a glass breaks in them. Also, the pan the utensils are stored in needs to go through the dishwasher at least once a week. The interior of the ice machine must be emptied, cleaned and sanitized at least once a month. Discard all ice in this machine. Staff have begun to clean all of the above while i was here. Corrected.

(Critical) No paper towels were stocked at the basement bar handsink. I want you to install a wall mounted paper towel dispenser there and send me a pic of the mount with paper towels stocked in it by 3/12/14

Replace the missing cover on the ice machine down in the basement.

Please clean and organize the mop sink room in the basement. Get all stuff off the floor. And please keep it this way. You were cited this last inspection, as well.

Repeat violation 2 times in a row. The exit doors still have gaps around them. . . Please repair and weatherstrip them to eliminate all gaps.

Continue to make progress on replacing all the cracked floor tiles and any damaged coving. Also, the main upper bar floor needs to be done so it is smooth and easily cleanable and the floor drain needs a cover over it.

Health Report - 08/29/2013 (6 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I observed several expired foods (pork taco meat, creme fraiche, proschutto. Staff need to audit dates on foods everyday to assure expired foods are being discarded. Corrected by discarding.

(Critical) The product in the walk in cooler was found at 46*-47*f. Must be holding 41*f or colder. Adjusted the thermostat and temp inside cooler came down to 39*f. Okay to keep food in this cooler. Be sure to take temps of foods inside all coolers on a daily basis to assure holding 41*f or colder. Corrected.

(Critical) No sanitizer was getting into the dishmachine. Must keep at 50-100ppm. Chef worked on it and got it primed and working again. Okay to use. Corrected. Be sure you are using your chlorine test papers everyday before you run dishes through the machine to assure properly sanitizing.

(Critical) Paper towels were not available at the handsink in the kitchen or in the employee restroom. Staff need to re-stock after depleting. Corrected by stocking. Also, please install a dispenser for the word bar.

(Critical) A can of pop was stored in the server ice bin at the word bar. Ice used for drinks cannot be used as a coolant for foods/beverages. Corrected by removing pop and ice.

(Critical) Raw meat, fish and eggs were found on top shelf above ready to eat foods in the prep line cooler. Cooks need to be sure raw product is on bottom shelf and not directly next to any ready to eat foods. Corrected by doing such.

The kitchen needs to be kept cleaner and more organized. Pay particular attention to the floor drains, mop sinks, under the equipment. Also, please get things off of the floor so floors can be easily swept and mopped. The mop closet in the basement needs to be cleaned and organized, as well.

The door out of the kitchen and the entrance door to the last word has significant gaps at the bottom. Install adequate weatherstripping to eliminate gaps where pests can get inside.

Health Report - 02/28/2013 (1 critical incident(s))

(Critical) The ice was found with flecks of mold in it in both ice machines. I also observed slime mold build up on the deflector plate. You need to keep the ice machine routine cleaned and sanitized. Correct by discarding all ice and thoroughly cleaning within 10 days. Plans are to do it on 3-1-13. I will be back to verify on 3-6-13

No certified food safety manager at this store. Within 90 days, you need to have someone certified and fax in the certificate to me.

You need to keep the handsink clean where you enter the kitchen. Sink needs to be repaired/replaced.

Health Report - 09/04/2012 (3 critical incident(s))

(Critical) The walk in cooler was found holding foods at 44*f. Must be holding 41*f or less at all times. Also, the prep cooler was found holding product at 46-48*f. There were no potentially hazardous foods in the prep cooler. Cooling tech is due out this afternoon to repair the units. Have him call me after he is done with repairs on cell # i left with you. I want you to begin using refrigeration monitoring charts on a daily basis for every one of your coolers. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify coolers are holding 41*f or below.

(Critical) I observed raw shell eggs on top shelf in the walk in cooler. Raw product needs to be stored on bottom shelf and not next to ready to eat foods. You need to obtain more storage racks for the walk in cooler and make efficient use of the space you have in there. Will be back in 2 weeks to verify you have done this. Corrected by moving eggs to bottom shelf.

(Critical) I observed a soft cheese past the 7 day use by date for this type of cheese. Soft cheeses must be used within 7 days, at which time any remaining must be discarded. Corrected by discarding. To make things clearer, i would like you to begin posting the use by dates on your foods, not the make/open dates.

Soap was not dispensing from the main kitchen handsink. Staff need to always make sure soap is available.

I want you to have paper towel dispensers at all the handsinks and be sure staff are re-stocking dispensers when empty, not just putting roll on top of dispenser.

Repair the self closer on the employee restroom door.

You need to get a metal stemmed thermometer rated 0*f - 22o*f. The one you have is 50*-550*f. You can't measure cold holding with that one. Highly suggest getting a digital thermometer

Open bagged product (flour) needs to be put in containers with tight fitting lids