Los Amigos

Contact Information

625 Hilton Blvd.
Ann Arbor, MI 48108

Health Report - 03/23/2015 (1 critical incident(s))

(Critical) Observed the hand sink by the vegetable prep station to have an ice scoop sitting in the sink basin. Corrected by removing the ice scoop. Observed a large tub of tortilla chips to be blocking access to the hand sink in the tortilla chip storage area. Corrected by moving this tub to its proper location. Discussed with person in charge the need to ensure that staff will maintain access to hand sinks and only use them for hand washing. Pic indicated that this will be discussed at next staff meeting. Corrected.

Observed two emptied storage containers of tortilla chips to have a heavy accumulation of chip residue. It is apparent that the containers are not being cleaned after each use. Corrected by taking these containers to the dishwashing area and having the containers properly cleaned during inspection. Containers are now clean to the sight and touch. Corrected

No trash receptacle was found in the employee restroom. To correct, please provide a covered trash receptacle for this location.

Observed the bulk tortilla chip storage containers to not be covered. These containers shall be kept covered to avoid contamination from dust/splash. Corrected by covering these containers with the proper lids. Corrected. Observed one of the bulk containers of tortilla chips to be on the floor in front of the hand sink for this area. Corrected by moving the container to the storage rack with the other containers. Corrected

Observed the bulk ice buckets by the ice machine to not be stored inverted so they can properly drain. Corrected by moving the buckets to the clean utensil storage rack and stored inverted. Corrected. Observed coffee filters to be exposed to dust/splash. Corrected by discarding the top filters that were exposed and placing remaining filters back into their original packaging where they are protected. Corrected

Observed the hand sink by the 2 compartment vegetable prep area to be leaking at the "p" trap area. To correct, replace or reassemble the pvc components to ensure a secure seal to stop the leak. Observed the drain line for one of the 2 compartment sinks to not be maintaining its air gap to the drain. To correct, please reposition the plumbing to maintain the air gap. Observed the toilet seat in the employee bathroom to be broken and not securely fixed to the toilet. To correct, please new bolts to securely attach seat to toilet

Observed sections of the floor to be pitted/worn in the following areas: main kitchen cooking area, dishwashing area, and front bar. To correct, please have floor retiled/resurfaced/regrouted so the floor can be properly cleaned without debris getting caught in the pits/recessions

Observed the light bulb for the walk in freezer to no longer be operational. To correct, please replace with a working light bulb

Observed the ceiling by the front waitstation and dishwash area to be soiled with dust debris by the return air intakes and general ceiling area. To correct, please clean these areas now and place on a more frequent cleaning scheudule. Observed the floor area and the floor/wall junctures in the back storage area and mechanical room area to be soiled with debris. To correct, please clean these areas now and place on a more frequent cleaning schedule

Health Report - 09/16/2014 (8 critical incident(s))

(Critical) No soap was provided at the bar area hand washing sink. Provide soap for staff to properly clean their hands

(Critical) The bleach provided for staff to use only has label directions for laundry use. No epa registration or proper directions for sanitizing purposes is provided. Obtain a supply of bleach for use in restaurants for sanitizing food contact surfaces

(Critical) Kitchen staff are only wiping off the food thermometer probe with paper towel prior to and between taking food temperatures. Your staff must sanitize the food probe first and between checking food temperatures. Obtain some alcohol swabs for this purpose and train staff as needed

(Critical) Cook line area prep refrigerators: observed two small pans of chopped tomatoes resting on top of other food pans (not properly inserted into the refrigerator) that were at 49 to 53f. Corrected by discarding. Observed a tray with portioned house-made salsa in bowls to be at 50f. Corrected by discarding. In the future, keep this salsa in the nearby refrigerator after portioning it (you may need more shelving). Corrected by discarding

(Critical) No chlorine test papers were provided at the dish washing area. The manager found some in the office. Provide sanitizer test papers in the dish washing room (some where dry) where staff have access to them for regular use

(Critical) Observed multiple bare clay mugs at the bar. These mugs are rough, will absorb moisture, difficult to clean and thus cannot be used for food contact. Eliminate these mugs from use. If you wish to replace them they must have a food-safe glaze

(Critical) No paper towel is provided at the bar area hand sink. Ensure paper towels are provided at this station

(Critical) 1) asap contact a refrigeration contractor to clean and sanitize the interior of the ice machine and ice bin. 2) observed many of the metal kitchen pans (various sizes) to still have old food debris on them. Corrected by re-washing them. ***ensure staff are inspecting washed items for cleanliness after they have a chance to air dry. *** 3) the can opener blade had old food residue on it. Ask your staff to clean it after each use so it doesn't get forgotten. Corrected by cleaning the can opener.

Two light bulbs in the bar area reach in coolers only have bare glass bulbs. Provide bulbs with a shatter-proof coating

The walk in freezer and one of the two walk in cooler light bulbs were non functional. Provide replacement bulbs or repair the light circuit as needed so proper lighting is available. Observed standing water in the globe of the walk in cooler that is non-functional. Eliminate the source of water to this fixture

Observed a pitcher (being used as a scoop) stored in a ice storage container with the handle stored in the ice. Corrected by discarding the ice that was in contact with the handle and by storing the scoop on top of the closed container lid

Walk in freezer: observed ice build-up on packaged food stored under the evaporator coil. Have a contractor trouble-shoot the problem and repair as needed to prevent this situation

Upon arrival both of the dumpster doors were left open. Corrected by sliding the doors closed

Three tubs of recently prepped onions were found on the walk in cooler floor. Corrected by relocating the food containers to a shelf

Two wiping cloth pails (server area and the bar) contained a cleaner chemical (fantastico). Only store your wiping towels in a container of sanitizer at the proper strength.

Observed some of the ice pails to be stored upright. Please store them inverted on a clean surface so they can drain out and won't collect debris

Server area soda dispensing machine/ice bin: re-establish the drain line air gap as needed. The vertical air gap height must be two times the diameter of the discharge piping above the floor drain

Observed a large, round insulated ice bin on wheels that is not continuously draining. Provide a way to drain melted ice out of this container (drain must end in an air gap above the receiving drain)

Health Report - 03/04/2014 (6 critical incident(s))

(Critical) The ice bin at the expo area at the pop station has 2 drain lines that are not air gapped. You need to permanently air gap these 2 drain lines. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify this has been done. Make sure they are permanently secured.

(Critical) Repeat violation 2 times in a row. Complete the risk control plan and fax into me within 10 days. Once again i found opened whipped creams(5 of them in the expo cooler) and an opened milk in the expo cooler that were not date marked. You are still not making sure staff are in compliance with this on a permanent basis. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify your risk control plan is working to keep these items date marked.

(Critical) I found 2 boxes of cheesecake with an expired use by date of 2/27. Managers/staff need to check dates daily and discard foods that expire. Corrected by discarding.

(Critical) I observed several mouse droppings on the top of your dishmachine. You need to have a licensed pest company out immediately to begin eliminating them. Also, they need to find entrance points and tell you where you need to seal your building so they cannot get in. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify you have gotten rid of them and are working on sealing points of entry.

(Critical) I found one spray bottle at the expo area and 2 spray bottles in the back area that were not labelled with common name of product. Staff need to be labelling spray bottles. Corrected by doing such.

(Critical) The two handsinks in the front expo area and the handsink in the dishwash room had no paper towel available to use. You must always keep paper towel dispensers stocked at all times. You need to get a new paper towel dispenser in the dishroom, as the auto one keeps jamming. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify you have a new dispenser there. All sinks were stocked.

You need a higher watt light in the walk in cooler so you can easily see in there. Make sure the lightbulb is shielded or is the shatterproof type lightbulb.

Staff on the prep line were found keeping their knives in sanitizer between uses. This is not allowed. Keep on clean surfaces and clean and sanitize every 4 hours.

The door to the walk in cooler is beyond repair damaged and must be replaced so it closes tightly. Also, repair the seals and closer on the walk in freezer door.

Boxes of "to go" product stored on floor in the front expo area. You need to put up more storage shelves so you can get this off the floor! do not use milk/bread crates.

You need new door sweeps on both of your front entrance doors and on your back entrance door. These are areas where mice can enter your facility. I want these installed by when i come back in 2 weeks.

You need to keep your brooms and mops out of the mop sink and hung up so they can dry. Do not store things in your mop sink basin.

You need to continue to work on keeping your facility much cleaner. Paying particular attention to hard to reach areas under equipment and storage racks. Also, be sure to clean the floor drain crocks and the screens you have over them. I want to see improvement on this when i come back in 2 weeks.

You are going to need to begin replacing your heavily damaged kitchen floor and floor coving tiles. I don't want to see the tiles caulked. . . . They need to be replaced. I expect to see a large portion of this work completed by your next routine inspection in 6 months!!!

You need to clean the door gaskets on all your cooler more often and better.

Health Report - 09/05/2013 (10 critical incident(s))

(Critical) Cheesecake, opened milk and 2 opened cans of whipped cream were not date marked. Servers need to be using date stickers like the back of the house is. Post open date and use by date(6 days added to open date). I will be back in 2 weeks to verify. Dated while present.

(Critical) I watched the dishwasher handle dirty kitchenware and then touch cleaned ware without washing his hands. Handwashing must always take place after handling dirty ware and before touching clean ware. Corrected through education.

(Critical) I observed the dishwasher just rinse his hands off under the spray arm when told he needed to wash hands. Staff need to be trained how to properly wash hands in a designated handsink, under warm water and using soap, for 20 seconds. Corrected by education.

(Critical) The handsink at the main cook line was observed with diced onions in the drain, indicating staff are using the handsink as a dumpsink. Handsinks are to be only used for handwashing. Hold staff accountable to go to back prep sinks to rinse pans, etc. Corrected through education.

(Critical) 3 cases of beer were found stored in the chemical room under several gallons of bleach. Foods and beverages need to be stored away from chemicals. Corrected by moving beer to safe location.

(Critical) There is a large infestation of drain/fruit flies in your facility. They are in here because of how unclean your kitchen/bar is. You need to work with your pest company and do the things they tell you you need to do to keep the flies out of your store. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify there are not flies in your facility.

(Critical) No chlorine test papers available. Obtain some and train staff how to use them to verify dishmachine and sanitizer solutions are at 50-100ppm. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify you have test papers.

(Critical) The condensate drain line out of the beer walk in cooler is not air gapped. You need to provide an air gap on this line. Also, you need to air gap the line out of the ice bin at the bar. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify it is air gapped.

(Critical) 3 of the handsinks were found to be non-functional. The server handsink water was turned off, due to leaking handles. There is no water available at handsink by the ice machine in the rear prep area. And the handsink in the dishwash area has a missing faucet handle and the drain pipe is not hooked up. I spoke with a plumber they contracted and he will be out this afternoon and will call me after completing the work. Managers need to be accountable to repair damaged equipment as soon as it breaks, not wait for a health inspection. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify handsinks are all working, fully stocked and staff are using them!

(Critical) The ice scoop was stored in a dirty scoop holder. Staff need to remember to clean the ice scoop holder routinely. Corrected by running through dishwasher.

You are not maintaining your equipment in good repair as you are required. Both of your cook line flip top coolers need service. The left side one has a door that does not stay shut and it needs new door seals/gaskets. The right side one has a broken door hinge and the flip top has a broken handle that needs to be repaired. Also, the server 2 door reach in cooler has ice buildup on the compressor. This must be serviced asap!!! i will be back in 2 weeks to verify all of the above has been repaired.

You need more approved storage racks in the walk in freezer so you can keep all foods at least 6" off the floor. Do not use bread or milk crates.

Staff observed stacking wet pans before dry. Be sure to air dry pans before stacking them together.

Your facility is not being kept clean and this is causing you to have flies in your store. You need to be thoroughly cleaning your store everyday!!! clean all the drains, the equipment, the floors under equipment and racks. You also need to keep your floors dry!!! mop up standing water. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify you have thoroughly cleaned your facility!

I found a toothbrush and a tube of toothpaste stored in a bin with bottles of sauces. Personal belongings need to be stored in a seperate area from foods and food contact items.

The front entrance door needs a door sweep to eliminate the gap. The back door needs to close tightly. This will help keep flies out of your store

The handsink in the employee restroom is dirty. You need to keep handwash sinks clean!

Health Report - 02/28/2013 (0 critical incident(s))

Floor drain at server area backed up onto floor. Need to have this serviced. Also, several of your handsinks drain very slowly. Have all of them snaked out too. Plumber is due out this afternoon. Keep all drains routinely cleaned out to prevent backing up.

You need to be keeping the dumpster area much cleaner and clean the grease barrel more often.

Health Report - 08/28/2012 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I observed dirty food pans, knives and a slicer. Staff need to wash, rinse and sanitize utensils thoroughly and inspect them for cleanliness. Corrected by re-cleaning through the dishmachine.

(Critical) I observed a server grab lemon garnish with her bare hands. Need to use tongs, which is store policy. Tongs were not at the station. Manager needs to assure servers are in compliance. Corrected by supplying and using tongs.

Repair the condensation leak in the walk in freezer.

Most of the handsinks were found dirty. Staff need to be keeping the sinks and fixtures clean and the soap and paper towel dispensers.

I observed 3 damaged plastic spatulas. Cracked lids on the chip dispenser and no lid for the drink garnishes at the bar. Replace when observed damaged.

Staff are not air drying pans before stacking them. You need to have more racks to store stuff on so it can air dry. Re-organize the dishroom and i will be back in 2 weeks to verify.

Please cover foods while in refrigeration or in dry storage.

Do not re-use retail containers, such as margarita mix containers. Obtain food grade containers that are easily washable.

You need to replace the burnt lights in the dishroom and in the walk in freezer.

You need handwash reminder signs at all of your handsinks, including in the restrooms.

You need to replace the damaged door seals on the prep coolers on the main cook line. Also need to repair gasket on walk in cooler door.

The walk in cooler door does not shut tightly. Have serviced so it closes tightly and by itself. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify this.

Staff need to store their personal belonging in the break area.

I observed the presence of drain flies. Please have your pest company focus on eliminating them and be sure that you are keeping your store clean and the floors dry.

Your facility was not being kept clean like it needs to be. The following areas need to be cleaned and kept on a routine schedule: the floors were slippery with grease on the main prep line, the storage bins were dirty, the dishroom is dirty, floordrains are dirty, the mop sink is dirty, the chest freezer is dirty and in need of defrosting. I want you to thoroughly clean your facility and i will be back in 2 weeks to verify for cleaning.

You need to provide a door sweep on the back door to eliminate the gap.

Health Report - 02/27/2012 (1 critical incident(s))

(Critical) 4 spray bottles were found not labelled or mis-labelled. Always label with common name of contents. Corrected by doing such.

No chlorine test papers on site. Keep stocked and use to verify dish machine and sanitizer buckets are kept at 50-100ppm.

Replace the cracked light shield in the dry storage room.

No paper towels were stocked at the server line handsink. Staff must be re-stocking after using them up!! corrected.

Health Report - 08/25/2011 (10 critical incident(s))

(Critical) A case of eggs was found stored on the beer kegs. Another case of eggs was stored over and next to ready to eat foods. Store eggs like raw meats. . . On bottom shelf and seperated from ready to eat foods. Corrected on site by storing properly

(Critical) I observed a cheese sauce being reheated in a hot hold steam unit. Staff must be re-heating on stove to >165*f before stocking into steam units. Must train staff of this and be sure they are using thermometers to verify heating temps. Corrected by heating on stove.

(Critical) The spray rinse arm is no longer air gapped at the dishwash sink area. You need a new spring to assure the spray nozzle sits at least an inch above the drain rim on the sinks. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify this has been done.

(Critical) I observed a large container of cheese sause at 53*f in walk in cooler. Unsafe cooling procedures were used. You need to break this product down into shallow pans to cool through the danger zone in appropriate times. Item was discarded. I will be back to verify safe cooling methods are being used. Use the chart i left to begin to document cooling times.

(Critical) I found an opened milk not posted with use by date. I also observed staff going around marking dates after i arrived using post it note stickers. I want you to obtain date stickers that will adhere to containers and implement a permanent date marking system. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify this is being done.

(Critical) There is no hose bibb vacuum breaker on the mop sink faucet with a hose connected to it. You must put one on and i will be back in 2 weeks to verify it has been done.

(Critical) Handwashing is not happening here due to the fact that all the handsinks had no paper towels stocked at them and two of them had no soap. Furthermore, sinks were blocked by sani buckets in the basin. The expe/server line handsink is broken and must be repaired within 10 days. Have all paper towel dispensers stocked and working properly and not jamming up. I will be back in 2 week to verify these items.

(Critical) I observed the ice scoop in dirty water in ice scoop holder. Staff need to be pulling scoop holders and washing them on a daily basis. Corrected by doing such.

(Critical) I observed a large stockpot of raw chicken on the floor and temperature of 65*f. I also found a pan of cooked meat sitting on counter at 62*f. Staff must not be leaving foods out for this long before heating/cooking. You need to train them to work in small batches due to limited stove space. Develop a written procedure and have copy for me on follow up inspection in 2 weeks.

(Critical) I fond 3 dented cans of ketchup. Staff need to pull dented cans and put in a labelled area for return for credit. I will be back to see that you have a labelled area for cans in 2 weeks.

Do not put sanitizer buckets in handsink basins. Keep handsinks easily accessible.

You need to re-surface the concrete by the back door so there is no standing water there.

Back door was kept open. Must keep closed to keep out insects and rodents.

Opened bags of food product need to be put into a sealed container to keep bugs out. (flour)

You need to have wastebaskets at each handsink.