Espresso Royale

Contact Information

1101 S. University
Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Health Report - 02/18/2015 (0 critical incident(s))

This incident (68423) does not have any more information on it

Health Report - 02/11/2015 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) None of the cream pitchers (4) were time marked, as is your policy for these. Staff need to be marking 6 hour expiration times on the containers. Corrected by doing such.

(Critical) The water softener drain line does not have the required air gap on it. Provide the air gap on this line within 10 days and send me clear pictures showing this line is air gapped by 2-23-15.

Please label your dry stock food bins with name of contents. (ex - sugar, chocolate, etc)

You need to provide a mop holder and be sure to hang up mops after uses.

Sanitizer buckets found with dirty solution and little sanitizer in them. They need to be changed out more frequently to a keep solutions clean and keep sanitizer levels at 50-100ppm chlorine.

Health Report - 08/15/2014 (0 critical incident(s))

Please clean the floor and pipes better under the pop machine.

Health Report - 03/03/2014 (0 critical incident(s))

Please clean in the cabinet under the ice bin of the soda machine. Also, the mop sink in the basement office needs to be cleaned, dump water out of mop buckets and hang up mops to facilitate rapid drying.

Health Report - 09/10/2013 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) Repeat violation 2 times in a row. Complete the risk control plan and fax into me within 10 days. Once again, there are numerous drain flies in your facility, particularly around the ice machine and the stairwell to the basement. You cannot have flies in your store, as this is unsanitary. You need to contract a pest company that can eliminate the flies from your facility. I will be back in one month to verify the flies are gone. Save me all reports from the pest company for my review on the follow up inspection.

(Critical) Paper towels were not stocked at "the hole" handsink. Staff need to re-stock after depleting. Corrected by stocking towels.

Staff need to be cleaning the scale and the juicer more frequently.

The prep cooler in "the hole" is down again. This unit was not functioning on the last inspection. It may be time to replace this unit. I will be back in a month to verify unit has been replaced/repaired.

I observed staff purse on the front storage rack. Personal belongings need to be stored in a location away from food or food contact items.

The single door reach in cooler under the cash register is in need of repair. The door needs to be adjusted to eliminate the gap into the cooler.

Health Report - 03/06/2013 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) The prep cooler in the prep area was found holding at 47*f. Must be holding 41*f or cooler. Do not store any phf's in this unit until repaired and confirmed holding 41*f or lower. I want you to begin using monitoring charts to take temps of all your coolers on a daily basis! i will be back for re-inspection on this! must be holding 41*f or less.

(Critical) There are drain flies present in your store again. This time they seem to be more around the espresso press area. Your pest control operator needs to be thoroughly treating all areas and all floor drains. There should not be any flies in your store. Plans are to switch pest companies and get on a mitigation plan asap. I will be back in 3 weeks to verify they have been eliminated from your store!

Mops aren't being hung up to dry between uses. Provide mop holders and begin hanging up after uses. Also, you need to clean the mop sink. This contributes to drain flies being in your store.

You need employee handwashing signs in both restrooms in the basement.

Health Report - 09/05/2012 (0 critical incident(s))

Do not use cups to dispense foods. Found 2 cups in sugar bin. Use scoops with handles and keep handles out of contact with foods. Also, staff need to keep debris out of sugar.

Need you to have sanitizer buckets made up at the espresso machines for wiping down the steam wands and spills.

I observed personal clothing and a cell phone stored on a rack with food contact items. Personal belongings need to be kept seperated from food and food contact items. Find a location to store these things.

Health Report - 03/08/2012 (1 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I found a gallon of milk that was past the use by time by a half hour. I want you to discontinue this practice of leaving gallons of milks out. Keep them in the reach in coolers at all times. Corrected by discarding the timed out milk and keeping milks in coolers at all times.

There are still drain flies in your store, particularly around the ice machine. You need to have them eliminated from your store. For the next 4 weeks i want lauren to e-mail me progress updates once a week, letting me know how things are progressing with the elimination of these pests.

Health Report - 09/20/2011 (1 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I observed many drain flies around the ice machine area. Contract with a licensed pest company to set up a plan to eradicate them. I will be back in 30 days to re-inspect for no flies!!!

Replace the damaged gaskets on your coolers within 90 days

You need to find a location to hang up your brooms and dustpans between uses. There is way to much clutter on the floor around the ice machine, which is contributing to the drain fly problem.

You need to air gap the drain line out of the dishmachine. I will be back to re-inspect for this in 30 days

Staff need to hang up mops after uses to facilitate rapid drying.

Health Report - 03/25/2011 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) High temp sanitize machine not to proper temp of 160° for utensil surface temp. Do not use until repaired. Manually sanitize ware in 50-100ppm bleach in 3 comp sink. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify it has been repaired. Obtain thermal labels to check machine at least once a week.

(Critical) The can opener blade was observed dirty. You need to be running this through the dishwasher after uses. Corrected by cleaning while i was present.

No paper towels found at prep area handsink. Within 2 weeks, put up a soap and paper towel dispenser at this handsink and keep stocked at all times.

The paper towels dispense right into contact with the garbage can liner at the main handsink. You need to raise the paper towel dispenser or use a smaller, shorter waste basket. Also, clean the paper towel dispenser.

Health Report - 09/21/2010 (1 critical incident(s))

(Critical) Repeat violation 2 times. Once again, the cut cantaloupe and honeydew melon was found at 47f-49f on the left side cold table. Must be holding 41f or less at all times once cut. Store manager has stated they will not keep any left over cut melon in this unit anymore. All will be portioned and kept inside the box of the cooler. Seal off that left side of this unit so it cannot be used. Fax over risk control plan within 7 days. I will be back to confirm it in 10 days.

Provide a covered waste receptacle for feminine hygiene product in both restrooms.

Replace the damaged ceiling tiles in the basement storage closet.

Keep your pitchers of teas, chocolate and chai covered on the front counter as they are exposed to your guests.

You need to replace your excessively grooved and discolored cutting boards