Ypbor Yan

Contact Information

4905 Washtenaw
Ann Arbor, MI 48108

Health Report - 06/29/2015 (1 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I found won ton on the steam table at 110*f. Hot foods must be held at 135*f or hotter at all times. It was determined that the steam well water was only at 110*f. Staff had too much water in the steam well, plus they did not turn it on soon enough to heat the water. The steam well water needs to be above 155*f before any foods are stocked in them. Corrected by discarding won ton and following the above set up procedure

Staff need to be thoroughly cleaning under the wok around the burners and also be cleaning the drip trays on the stove. You need to not be lining anything with aluminum foil.

Staff left dirty mop water in the bucket in the basement and did not hang up the mop. Be sure this habit get corrected in staff.

Staff were observed to be storing knives wedged between equipment where they come into contact with dirty surfaces. You need to install some magnetic knife holders for staff to store their knives on.

You need to provide light shields with end caps on the lights over the dishwasher and over where the slicer is.

You need to provide covered waste receptacles in the womens stalls in the restroom.

Health Report - 01/08/2015 (0 critical incident(s))

This incident (70316) does not have any more information on it

Health Report - 12/18/2014 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I observed food strainers(2), a pot, and the can opener blade dirty. Staff need to be cleaning food contact items better and managers need to be assuring this is happening. You have been cited this violation a few times in the past. I will be back in 3 weeks to verify things are clean.

(Critical) I found raw beef on top shelf above noodles in the reach in cooler and a pan of raw chicken on top shelf in the walk in cooler. Your staff need to always be storing raw meats on bottom shelf and seperated from ready to eat foods.

You need to be cleaning better under the wok range. There is a lot of food debris in hard to reach areas. You also need to be cleaning your dry good storage bins on a regular basis. I will be back in 3 weeks to verify you have cleaned your facility thoroughly.

Repeat violation several times! once again, both restroom doors were latched in the open position. You were told last inspection that restroom doors must be kept closed. I want you to remove the latches you use to keep doors open and keep doors closed. I will be back in 3 weeks to verify you have removed the latches.

None of the food prep staff had hair restraints on. They are required to be wearing them when working in the kitchen. All of them put on chef's hats.

The plates and soup bowls at the buffet need to be stored inverted.

Repeat violation again. I found the silverware bin and tea cups out on the same table they were on last inspection in the dining area. You need to keep your clean tableware in an area where they can't be contaminated by your guests. I will be back in 3 weeks to verify where you are going to keep these items.

Repeat violation several times now. Once again, i found many, many foods in all of your coolers and in dry storage that were not covered. You need to obtain food grade storage containers that have lids and managers need to hold staff accountable to be keeping lids on foods. I will be back in 3 weeks to verify you are doing this.

Repeat violation several times. Once again, i found a large number of unidentifyable foods without common name labelled on the container these foods are stored in. Joan needs to be sure all foods are labelled in english. I will be back in 3 weeks to verify this is being done.

You need to install lights in the light fixtures in the far back area by the 3 comp sinks.

You have a lot of clutter stored on the floor in the kitchen, basement storage areas and at the bar. I want you to organize your store and get rid of things you are not using and get everything off the floors so they can be easily swept and mopped. I will be back in 3 weeks to verify you have done all this.

Repeat violation several times now. Your back door and screen door does not shut easily and it is has gaps around it that allow the entrance of pests. You need top professionally have your doors fixed. I will be back in 3 weeks to verify the main door and the screen door shut and latch easily with automatic door closers on them.

You must stop re-using retail containers that you bought food in. These are a single use only item. Once food is gone, through out these containers. You need to purchase food grade, durable storage containers with lids.

No sanitizer buckets were made up in the kitchen. Your kitchen staff need to be keeping a sanitizer bucket or 2 made up with 50-100ppm chlorine and be keeping their wiping cloths in this bucket between uses. The servers need to be using bleach in their bucket and not soap. Corrected

Health Report - 07/03/2014 (3 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I found several ducks, chicken, chicken entrails and pork thawing under running water at 55*f to 63*f. Meats cannot rise above 41*f. You need to pull your product and thaw in your walk in cooler so this unsafe practice doesn't happen anymore. Corrected by discarding all the meats and following the above new procedure.

(Critical) I found cut watermelon at 58*f on the buffet line on an improperly set up ice bath. Owner has decided that she will no longer serve any cut melon any longer in this facility. Corrected by discarding and discontinuing the serving of cut melons.

(Critical) Cooked noodles found cooling in unsafe methods. 68*f pasta was packed in large containers and covered and put in cooler. You need to take cook noodles, put in collander and immerse in a bowl and dump lots of ice over the pasta to rapidly cool noodles to 41*f. Use thermometer to temp pasta. . . Once at 41*f or less, you can put in large containers and cover and put in cooler. Corrected by using ice to further the cooling process.

Both restrooms doors were propped open. Restroom doors must be kept closed.

Clean silverware bins and a bin of clean tea cups stored on table in guest area. You need to store this clean utensils in a protected area away from guests.

You need to keep all your foods covered in all of your coolers and in dry storage.

You need to label all of the foods that are not easily recognizable.

You need to replace the upright glass door cooler on the server area. The glass is cracked and the cooler is holding 53*f. No phf's in this cooler at time of inspection.

I want you to take all of your tools out of the drawer on the main cook like and put them all in a toolbox and store in the basement. Remove the small fryer that you are not using on the cook line.

There are many floor tiles that have come up in the basement. You need to re-do this floor by the next inspection in 6 months.

You need to clean your exhaust hood vents better and more often.

Health Report - 01/16/2014 (4 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I found raw chicken and raw pig blood stored above and next to produce in the walk in cooler. You need to always store raw animal product below and not next to any ready to eat foods, such as produce. You have a very small walk in cooler with lots of stock in it, so you need to be very organized with how you store your foods. Corrected by storing raw foods in safe location.

(Critical) I found wonton dumplings in steamers without fire on the stove and at 94-110*f. You must hold these at 135*f or hotter or keep in cooler at 41*f of colder. . . . Corrected by discarding and keeping in cooler from now on.

(Critical) Chemical cleaning agents were found stored too close to clean pans and other ware in the dishwash room. Store all your chemicals away from food contact items. Corrected by doing such.

(Critical) I found 2 cans of unapproved insecticides in your facility. One in the dishwash area and one at the bar. If you have insects, you need to contract with a licensed pest control company. Do not have unapproved insecticides in your store. Corrected by discarding.

You need to clean the interior of the microwaves better, pay attention to the top interior.

I observed improper thawing of meats in the sinks. The foods were not completely immersed under water. Be sure this is done when thawing in this manner.

You need to install a mop holder by the mop sink in the basement so the mops can be hung up to dry after uses.

Wood swewers stored in a tool drawer. Store food contact items in a clean area.

Health Report - 06/27/2013 (6 critical incident(s))

(Critical) Repeat violation 2 times. Complete the risk control plan within 10 days and fax into me. Once again, i found food contact items dirty. I found the can opener blade with food debris on it. Also, a vegetable slicer was hung up and it was not cleaned, as evidenced by food particle on the blade. Also, food pans on back storage shelf observed dirty, due to being stored on dirty and greasy shelves. Staff need to be cleaning and sanitizing food contact items and keeping storage shelves cleaned and sanitized. Corrected by cleaning all of the above.

(Critical) I found a head of lettuce that has been sliced into not date marked. Once you cut lettuce, you need to place it in a covered container and date mark it. Corrected by doing such.

(Critical) Paper towels in the employee bathroom in the basement were not available due to dead battery in dispenser. Paper towels need to always be available. Staff need to be reporting this to managers. Corrected by changing batteries.

(Critical) A bowl of soy sauce and a pan of fried noodles was out in self serve area without any protection. You need to keep these items either under a sneeze shield or covered. Corrected by keep bowl of soy under sneeze shield and by having servers bring out fried noodles.

(Critical) I observed 3 pans of breaded chicken and a sesame ball sitting out on counter to be deep fried and at 59*-67*f. Staff need to leave foods in coolers until ready to deep fry them, not leave them sitting out at room temp allowing foods to be in the danger zone. Corrected by discarding and re-educating cooks. Managers need to enforce this!

(Critical) Cooks had a container of cut cabbage sitting out at room temperature. Under the new food code, cut cabbage must be held 41*f or less, thus you need to keep in the cooler. Corrected by discarding and keeping in cooler from now on.

I found many foods that were not covered in most coolers and hot pepper sauce in dry goods room. You need to get staff putting lids on all foods!

Staff are using cloth towels under cutting boards. You need to obtain board stablizers and have staff be using them.

I observed cooks eating in the kitchen. Staff need to be eating in dining area or in basement break rooms.

Your hood filters are observed with grease build and dripping grease. You need to have them cleaned more often!

Observed frozen seafood thawing in pan on counter. When thawing, foods must be immersed in a pan of cold, running water.

You need to replace the damaged screen frame by the 3 comp sink. Also, the back screen door needs to be adjusted so it closed tightly. Clean the debris out of your screens.

Health Report - 12/18/2012 (1 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I observed slicers and a strainer basket dirty. Staff need to be pre-cleaning with brushes before running through dishwasher. Corrected on site by cleaning thoroughly.

Health Report - 06/21/2012 (7 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I found a large stockpot of white rice that was improperly cooled. The center of the rice was still at 45*f after cooling from day before. You need to put hot foods on sheet trays and cool in walk in cooler in that manner. Rice was discarded. Use cooling chart i left you for next 2 weeks.

(Critical) Oneof the drain lines out of the wok is not air gapped. Provide an air gap. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify.

(Critical) I observed insects in dried carrots. Insects need to be controlled. Have a pest control operator out to service your building. You also need to replace all damaged screens and be sure they are tight fitting. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify. Safe copy of work order from pest company.

(Critical) You need to provide new faucets to the food prep sink upstairs and to the mop sink in the basement. Be sure the mop sink has the proper backflow preventor on it. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify these have been properly installed.

(Critical) I found 2 spray bottles not labelled. Staff need to always keep labelled. Corrected.

(Critical) I observed several dirty utensils and knives. Staff need to be thoroughly cleaning by washing, rinsing and sanitizing. Also, the meat slicer was observed dirty. Must be washed, rinsed and sanitized. Corrected by doing such.

(Critical) Once again, the cut melon held on ice on the buffet is at 50*f due to improper ice bath set up. Due to this repeat problem, i am ordering you to discontinue the use of any cut melons (cantaloupe, honeydew, watermelon) on the buffet, unless you purchase mechanical refrigeration unit for the buffet.

Keep opened bags of foods in sealed containers. Keep lids on all foods in coolers and in dry storage.

You need to not be re-using retail food containers. I want you to purchase food grade containers with lids and keep lids on product.

No sanitizer detected in wiping cloth buckets. Keep at 50-100ppm and use test papers to verify. Also, observed several wiping cloths left out on prep tables. Keep in sanitizer between uses.

Your store is not being kept clean enough. Staff need to be cleaning every day. I observed shelves above prep line dirty, all floor drain crocks are dirty. Clean and organize your store thoroughly. Remove items not used for your business. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify you have done this.

The small chest freezer lid is not attached. You need to repair the lid or obtain a new freezer.

No paper towels stocked in the employee restroom. Staff need to re-stock after depleting. Corrected by stocking.

Repair damaged screens in windows and re-do back screen door to be tight fitting and no gaps. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify this.

Clean the faucet handles and area around them at the sink near the dishwasher.

Health Report - 12/19/2011 (1 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I found 2 cans of unapproved insecticides in the server area. Use of commercial grade insectides are all that is permitted in your facilty. Corrected by discarding.

There is not water coming out of the hot water faucet in the employee restroom in the basement. Fix this immediately so there is hot water available in that sink.

I observed cooks storing knives wedges between prep cooler and prep tables. They need to not store them there, as it is an unclean surface. Get a knife storage rack.

There are several containers of foods in the walk in cooler and reach in cooler on the line without any covers on them. Get containers with lids and keep covered.

You cannot be re-using single use food containers. You need to purchase food grade storage containers with lids to store all your foods in. Discard all single use containers.