Taco Bell # 5228

Contact Information

5650 Jackson Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48103

Health Report - 07/21/2015 (1 critical incident(s))

(Critical) Administrative conference held today at this office. Heather marshall, new store manager, will sit for exam today for servsafe.

Health Report - 07/13/2015 (5 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I found 3 bottles of grill cleaning agent stored on prep counters with and near foods and food contact items. I also found 2 spray bottles of all purpose cleaner stored with multiple bottles of flavored coffee creams at the drive thru. Staff need to be held accountable to store chemicals in safe locations where they will not contaminate foods or food contact items. Managers need to be catching this and correcting staff for this. Corrected by moving to safe locations.

(Critical) No sanitizer being used during the dishwashing process, due to empty sanitizer bucket and no sanitizer even available in the store to replace the empty bucket. You must be inspecting for this and you always need to have back up sanitizer in your store. Address this at the admin conference. Sanitizer was brought over from another taco bell while i was here and corrected

(Critical) Repeat violation 2 times in a row. Once again, the person in charge at the time of the inspection did not have active managerial control of this store as evidenced by the following: the store was filthy, the sanitizer feed bucket was empty and no replacement santizer was even available in the store,not using test papers, he did not know where the metal stem thermometer was and, thus, was not taking temps, the walk in cooler was found holding at 44*f due to iced up condensor inside the walk in and cleaning agents found stored with foods in several locations. Also, this store does not have anyone that is food safety manager certified. Bring in a detail corrective action plan on how you are going to assure you have adequately trained managers in your store to the administrative conference. ,

(Critical) Quat test papers were not being used by manager on staff at time of inspection, as evidenced by no sanitizer even available for use in the facility. Staff must be using test papers at least every shift to assure sanitizer levels are at proper levels. Corrected by holding manager accountable.

(Critical) When i asked the manager if they had a metal stem thermometer he said they lost it. Taco bell provides thermo-couple thermometers and no one could find it. Upon deeper searching, the manager was able to find a regular digital thermometer in the desk drawer in the office. Staff must be using thermometers daily to assure foods are be held and cooked to safe temps. Corrected by finding a working thermometer.

This store does not have at least one full time person that is certified in food safety management, as required by code. You need to bring in documentation that you have someone from this store registered for servsafe(or equiv) to the administrative conference meeting. Furthermore, you need to fax, scan or drop off the certificate certified manager by 10/13/15

Sanitizer buckets had no sanitizer in them, due to empty sanitizer bucket at feed station. Wiping cloths need to be kept in solution of 200-400ppm quat.

The walk in cooler condensor was severely iced up and foods in cooler were found at 43-44*f. Managers need to be taking temps in all coolers and inspecting for proper working order of coolers. A service tech was called and came out to repair while i was present so we did not discard any foods. Manager is to submit temp inside cooler via fax to me for 2 days. Left card with fax number.

Repeat violation 3 times in a row. See administrative conference notice and call to schedule appointment within 10 days. Once again, i found your facility completely dirty and in disarray. The following areas were observed dirty. . . All prep tables and surfaces, both sandwich steamers, all floors in kitchen and all equipment. Manager was not having staff clean during slow times. Also, there is no sanitizer available in the store, so proper cleaning of food contact items and surfaces cannot even be done. You need to write up a detailed corrective action plan and bring it to the conference.

Health Report - 01/28/2015 (0 critical incident(s))

This incident (70078) does not have any more information on it

Health Report - 01/14/2015 (4 critical incident(s))

(Critical) There is not active managerial control in this store. There hasn't been for several routine inspections now, as evidenced by lack of knowledge of managers and the condition the store has been in on my inspections. I need to meet with the area coach to discuss and resolve these issues at this store. I want the area coach to have a written corrective action plan for me when we have this meeting. Area coach is to call me to schedule this meeting.

(Critical) No paper towels were stocked at the drive thru handsink and the paper towels at the other handsink were just set on the table, not put into paper towel dispenser. Managers need to assure supplies are always properly stocked at handsinks so staff can effectively wash their hands. Corrected by stocking into dispensers

(Critical) The manager could not find the quat test papers. Managers need to be using test papers often throughout the day, so test papers are essential. Obtain some. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify you have them

(Critical) All of the foods on the cold rail were found at 49*-51*f. Upon investigation, the cold rail was not cold. I had the manager in charge look to see if he could figure out why and he couldn't. When i investigated, it was determined that the switch was turned off for the cold rail. Person in charge should be able to figure this out! all foods on rail were discarded. Corrected by turning on switch.

You need to provide a small wastebasket at each handwash sink for paper towel disposal.

The ice scoop was found left on top of the ice machine, which is not a clean surface. You need to provide an ice scoop holder to store your ice scoop in.

Repeat violation. . . . Once again the mop wasn't hung up to dry after use. Managers need to hold staff accountable to hang up things after use

Repeat violation multiple times. Once again, your store is not being kept clean. I was here when there were virtually no customers in your store, leaving plenty of opportunity to be sweeping and mopping the dirty floors in the kitchen and lobby area. You also need to be cleaning the hot hold cabinets, hot wells and cold wells more frequently and better.

Health Report - 07/09/2014 (0 critical incident(s))

Your mops, brooms, dustpans need to be stored hung up and cleaned after uses. The mop is in the mopsink and the brooms and dustpans are on the floor in various places throughout the store and dirty.

Repair the walk in freezer so condensation does not leak into the freezer.

Dishes are not being air dried before stacking together. Items washed yesterday were still found wet. Air dry ware before stacking.

Repeat violation 2 times in a row. You still do not have adequate space to air dry your dishes after washing. By august 1, 2014 you need to install additional racks to air dry things on before stacking them together. Also, the drainboard was observed dirty and with dirty rags on it. Need to keep cleaned and sanitized. I will be back to re-inspect for this on 8/1/14.

To go containers were found stored within the splash zone of the handsink by the prep area/drive thru window. You need to keep food contact surfaces outside of the splash area of the handsink. Highly recommend putting a splash shield on the right side of the handsink. Also, there were way too many cups stored in the cup holders at the front service area. Keep cups so they are recessed in the cup holder.

You still are not keeping your facility clean. You need to be cleaning the floors between rush times. Also, you need to be cleaning thoroughly under the cooking equipment and under the ice machine. I will be back on 8/1/14 to see that your store is clean.

Health Report - 01/14/2014 (0 critical incident(s))

The cold well was found holding foods at 48*-50*f. It needs to be holding 41*f or less. Have it serviced today and i will be back tomorrow to verify it is holding 41*f or less. Taco bell has written policy and foods are marked with 4 hour max time, so no temperature violation cited.

Mop was left in mop bucket after use. Keep mop hung up after use to facilitate rapid drying.

You need way more racks to air dry your clean utensils on, so you don't have to stack pans before they are dry.

The ice scoop was found stored directly on top of the ice machine, which is not a clean surface. Store ice scoop on a clean surface that is cleaned everyday.

This store was not able to show me they have a certified manager. Within 90 days, you need to fax me in a valid food safety manager certificate

Health Report - 07/18/2013 (4 critical incident(s))

(Critical) No presense of soap in the wash water at the 3 comp sink. Managers need to assure staff are changing out dishwash water more frequently. Corrected by supplying new wash water.

(Critical) Wash water temp at 3 comp sink found at 102*f. Must be 110*f or greater, therefore you need to change it out more often. Use thermometer to verify washwater temp is 110*f or more. Corrected by changing out water to above 110*f.

(Critical) The handsink by the take out window was completely blocked by boxes and such. The manager was seen moving it all away when she heard i was here. Managers need to be assuring complaince with the food safety at all times. Corrected by making this handsink accessible.

(Critical) Sanitizer was below 200ppm in 3 comp sink. Concentrated sanitizer bucket was empty. Managers need to be aware of this by doing self inspections every day! corrected by providing new concentrated bucket

The slushie machine is leaking. This needs to get repaired as soon as possible!

Food portion bags found stored directly under the handsink, exposing them to contaminated water from leaking pipes. Do not store any foods or food contact items under drain lines. This would be a good spot for a small wastebasket to go for paper towel disposal.

Your kitchen was found very dirty when i arrived and it was before your lunch rush! staff need to be keeping the store clean during operation. This includes the floors, prep tables, mop sinks, etc. Garbage baskets were already overflowing. This is unacceptable for me to find your store in this condition. Managers need to be holding staff accountable to keep your store organized and cleaned.

You need to have wastebaskets at handsinks for disposal of paper towels.

Health Report - 01/08/2013 (0 critical incident(s))

This violation has been repeated 3 times in a row!!! if i find this again, you will be issued an office conference notice, which comes with a $126┬░Fee. There is still condensation leaks from the compressor dripping inside the freezer and onto foods. You must permanently repair this. Staff must be visually inspecting to make sure unit is repaired!!!

Health Report - 07/09/2012 (0 critical incident(s))

The ice scoop is buried under the ice in the ice machine. You need to mount an ice scoop holder to the side of the ice machine and store ice scoop in that!

There weren't any paper towels stocked at the rear handsink when i washed my hands. Staff need to re-stock immediately after using the last of the towels. Corrected by stocking.

Repeat violation 2 times in a row. Once again, there are leaks coming out of the compressor in the walk in freezer. You folks need to repair this when you first notice it. Fax over copy of work order for this repair by july 20, 2012.

The store was found generally not clean, specifically the floors, mop sink area and trash was all full. Staff need to be cleaning the store during slow times, such as when i was here.

Mops and brooms were left in the mop sink after last use. These items need to be hung up after uses! corrected

Health Report - 01/05/2012 (0 critical incident(s))

Repair the leaks coming out of the compresser in the walk in freezer. Don't store any boxes of food where leaks are in the interim.

Too many cups are stocked in the cup dispensers at the front counter. Cups are to be recessed in dispenser to protect them from contamination.

You need a higher watt light bulb in the walk in cooler.

Health Report - 07/05/2011 (0 critical incident(s))

Please hang up the mop after use to facilitate rapid drying.

Use a scoop with a handle for the dry rice not the styrofoam cups.

Health Report - 01/03/2011 (0 critical incident(s))

Dumpster area in need of cleaning. Please clean now and place on routine cleaning schedule

Floor grout missing in some areas, especially dishwash area. Please replace to provide smooth, easily cleanable surface and to prevent water build-up between tiles

These areas in need of cleaning: floor drain in dining area under pop dispensing machine and floors under ice machine in rear kitchen. Please clean now and as often as necessary to maintain in clean condition.

These areas in need of cleaning: pop dispenser housing and area under plexi-glass on line (consider replacing plexi-glass). Please clean now and place on routine cleaning schedule