Romano's Macaroni Grill #141

Contact Information

3010 S. State Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48108

Health Report - 03/26/2015 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) Rechecked cold holding top rail for the grill station and confirmed unit is working properly holding foods at 41*f or below

(Critical) Observed the meat slicer, tomato dicer and all of the utensils on the clean utensil storage rack to be clean to the sight and touch. Person in charge indicated that food service staff responsible for cleaning utensils and equipment are thoroughly inspecting cleaned items prior to placing into storage. Pic is monitoring cleaned utensils and equipment throughout day as well. Corrected

Health Report - 03/16/2015 (3 critical incident(s))

(Critical) Observed a downstream cutoff valve from an atmosperic vacuum breaker at the mop sink faucet. Corrected by disconnecting hose that had the cutoff valve attached to it from the faucet. Person in charge indicated that this hose was used nightly to wash the floors in kitchen. Two simple long term solutions are availble: 1) either ensure that staff disconnect this hose with the shut off valve every night after use or 2) obtain a "sidekick" device and attach to faucet at mop sink and then attach the hose to the "sidekick" device. Corrected

(Critical) Observed the top rail of the cold holding unit for the raw sausage, raw salmon, raw chicken and raw steak to be not be turned on. All raw foods mentioned above were found to be at 60*f. Raw potentially hazardous foods shall be held at 41*f or lower. Corrected by discarding all foods found out of temperature from this cold holding unit into the trash. The top part of this unit was turned on and verification of this units performance was made at the conclusion of this inspection. Replacement foods to be cold held are now safe to be placed in this unit for cold holding. Corrected.

(Critical) Observed the following food contact surfaces to be soiled: the meat/cheese slicer by the food prep area, numerous utensils on the clean utensil storage rack by the dishwashing machine, and the tomato dicer by the rear prep area. To correct, please properly wash, rinse and sanitize these items now so they are clean to the sight and touch. Discused with person in charge to retrain staff responsible for cleaning these items so they are thoroughly inspecting them after cleaning to ensure they are clean to the sight and touch prior to placing into storage. Correct as indicated above

Observed the interior cavity of the microwave by the grill station to be soiled with accumulated food debris. The interior ceiling was particularly soiled. To correct, please wash, rinse and sanitize the interior of the microwave now and place on a more frequent cleaning schedule

Observed the following non food contact surfaces to be soiled: the base of the mechanical can opener and the underside/surrounding parts of the kitchen aid mixer. To correct, please properly wash, rinse and sanitize these items now and place on a more frequent cleaning schedule.

Observed the hood filters above the grill to be heavily soiled with debris. Person in charge indicated that the filters are cleaned weekly. To correct, please have hood filters cleaned now and consider increasing the freqency of having them cleaned

Observed the tomato dicer in the rear prep area to be damaged/missing pieces. The dicing grates were loose with pieces actually missing. The rubber "stops" were missing and had plastic cellophane wrapped/bunched up in their place. Person in charge immediately took this unit out of service. To correct, please repair/replace this unit

Health Report - 09/15/2014 (6 critical incident(s))

(Critical) Observed numerous small flies (likely fruit/vinegar flies) in multiple areas of the establishment. Maintain the facility cleaner and drier (especially the cook line floor and the many floor drains and floor sinks throughout the facility) to eliminate their breeding areas

(Critical) 1) no chlorine test kit was provide at the main dish washing machine. Provide. 2) no quat test kit was provided at the three compartment sink. Corrected by obtaining a vial of quat test papers from the office and placing them in the provided holder

(Critical) Observed a spray can of residential use raid ant and roach spray at the bar. Corrected by discarding. Any insecticides used in this establishment must be approved for restaurant use and used per label directions

(Critical) Bar: five bottles of liquor fitted with pouring spouts (four whisky and one rum) were observed with small flies in them. Corrected by discarding

(Critical) Walk in cooler: observed four portions of the mozzarella fonduta that were expired. Corrected by discarding. Pizza station: observed two more portions of mozzarella fonduta that had two labels on their plastic wrap. The top label had a discard date of 9-18. The label below indicated a discard date of 9-8. Staff may not re-label rte, phfs with new discard dates. Corrected by discarding

(Critical) The following items were observed to be unclean: the iced tea dispenser spout, the electric food slicer, two of the soda spout bases, can opener, three pair of tongs, three cheese graters. Corrected by cleaning these items. Ensure your staff are verifying these items are thoroughly clean after washing and sanitizing.

The sautee station refrigerator was not performing properly. Staff were utilizing ice and time control for these foods as a temporary measure. Per the general manager, town center, inc. Will be here tomorrow morning to repair this unit.

1) bar: observed liquor bottles with open pour spouts on them. Since flies are able to gain entry to the liquor, provide pour spout caps (to be left installed unless liquor is being poured) to provide a physical barrier against entry. 2) central dining room islands: observed open topped pitchers of water & iced tea. Provide a cover for these pitchers (plastic wrap, etc. )

The cook line area: most of the grout is missing between the floor tile and a few tiles are cracked. Repair as needed to eliminate the depressions

Bar: observed some sticky shelf liner material in three locations (one of which has some cardboard under it). Discard this material and provide a multi-use commercial bar matting for this purpose. Ensure staff wait until glassware is fully dry prior to storing them inverted on the matting to prevent mold growth

Three to four of the front kitchen refrigerators (reach-in portion) had standard bulbs in them. Provide shatter-proof light bulbs for these units

The following areas are in need of cleaning now and at least 2-3 times per week: the cook line floor (aisle way and under equipment--especially under the multi-burner sautee station); floor drains & floor sinks in the front and back kitchen, and at the bar (including the drains for the drain boards). Maintain these areas free of debris build-up that allow small flies to breed in your establishment

Health Report - 02/26/2014 (7 critical incident(s))

(Critical) Repeat violation 2 times in a row. Complete a risk control plan and fax into me within 10 days. Once again, i observed several foods that were not cooled properly. I found leftover soups in their well pans just thrown in the walk in cooler on top of bags of soups. Hot soups need to be in shallow pans and cooled rapidly. I also found soups and sauces being cooled in the sink without enough ice and in too large of containers. Many were still in the pan they were cooked in. Staff need to break down hot items into shallow hotel pans and cool rapidly uncovered in the walk in cooler or freezer. They also need to be using the cooling charts you have on a permanent basis. I will be back in 3 weeks to verify your cooling methods are being documented and working. The soups from the day before were discarded. The product in ice baths was put into shallow pans and put into freezer. I also observed that staff had stacked multiple pans of lasagna on top of each other, which will not allow for rapid cooling. It also was causing the aluminum foil to stick to the top of the lasagna. All lasagna was discarded.

(Critical) The bar handsink was blocked by having a plastic beverage container in the basin. Managers need to assure staff are keeping handsinks accessible. Corrected by removing container from basin.

(Critical) Repeat violation 2 times in a row. Complete the risk control plan and fax into me within 10 days. Once again, you are not in compliance with date marking. I found potentially hazardous desserts marked in excess of 7 days. Many other foods were not date marked at all and staff were observed date marking after i arrived. Managers need to assure that all staff are in compliance with date marking. I will be back in 3 weeks to verify date marking is in compliance.

(Critical) I observed a line chef sprinkle cheese on a dish with his bare hands, which is prohibited. Use a gloved hand or a dispensing utensil to prevent any bare hand contact with ready to eat foods. Managers need to be holding staff accountable here. Corrected by educating and enforcing.

(Critical) Managers are not ensuring staff are in compliance with the food code at this store. You are responsible for having systems in place to assure all facets of the food code are met. I want you to develop a written action plan on how you are going to achieve this on a permanent basis in your store. Have a copy for me when i return in 3 weeks for a follow up inspection.

(Critical) Repeat violation 2 times in a row. Complete the risk control plan and fax to me within 10 days. I found some cooked pasta in a bowl at the soup serve area at 56*f. Must be held at 41*f or less at all times. The ice had melted. I do not want you to put this on ice. You need to keep the pasta in a pan on the cold table and serve from there. Corrected by discarding and using the cold table. Also, the bowls you use to dress your salads were stack one on another with salad in them and at unsafe temps. You need to change out the mixing bowls after each salad from now on. Corrected by doing such. I also found meatballs in a sauce at 114*f on the main cook line. Must be held at 135*f or hotter at all times. Staff need to use thermomter to verify cook temps to assure at safe temps. Corrected by further heating to 165*f.

(Critical) I observed staff putting cleaned ware on a dirty cart to dry. Staff need to be sure that surfaces used to dry clean ware is cleaned and sanitized. Also, one of the soda nozzles at the bar had black slime on the diffuser. This must be cleaned and sanitized daily to prevent the growth of this slime. Corrected both while i was present.

You do not have adequate racks to air dry your kitchenware. You need to obtain more racks so ware can be air dried without having to stack pans together.

The handsink in the employee restroom was very dirty and plugged off. You need to keep handsinks cleaned and maintained, so hands can be adequately cleaned. Corrected.

The pantry prep cooler is iced up inside the box. This unit needs to be defrosting on its own. The ice is keeping the door from shutting with large container of lettuce in it. Have this unit serviced asap! also, the "grill prep cooler" is not working and this unit needs to be fixed or replaced within 3 weeks. I will be back in 3 weeks to verify this unit is working or replaced!!!!

Your store is not being kept clean. Your facility needs to be cleaned on a daily basis, thoroughly. The front line floors are dirty underneath all the equipment. The back area needs a to be thoroughly cleaned and organized. The top of the dishmachine has debris all over it. I want you to thoroughly clean and organize this store and i will be back in 3 weeks to verify this has been done.

I observed foods in coolers not covered or wrapped. Staff need to be sure they are covering foods.

The foodservice gloves at the bar were stored within the splashzone of the handsink. Store gloves in a protected area.

Health Report - 08/20/2013 (7 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I found improper cooling of a mushroom stuffing in a deep pan. . . . You need to place in shallow pans to cool safely. Also, hot pans of lasagna are just placed in walk in cooler to cool. You need to place in walk in freezer to cool your deep pans of lasagna. Use the rapid cooling charts to verify cooling prodedures and times of all items requiring cooling. Save charts for my observation when i come back in 2 weeks for a follow up inspection.

(Critical) You need to have a consistent date marking system in place in this store. Some are posting one date, some are posting 2 dates, some are posting 8 days when it requires 7 and some things are not date marked at all. I want you to have make date and use by dates. Be sure to date mark desserts. Those were not date marked(cheesecakes, tiramisu, mascapore, lemon cake). I will be back in 2 weeks to verify you have a consistent date marking system in place.

(Critical) Iodine sanitizer found above 50ppm at bar glasswash sink. Keep at 12. 5-25 ppm. Use test kits to verify. Corrected by adjusting to proper levels.

(Critical) No iodine test kit available at the bar. Staff need to be trained on how to test for iodine and always have test kit at the bar. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify you have one.

(Critical) I found 2 handsinks with food debris in them. Staff must not be using handsinks for any other purposed than handwashing. The handsinks were the pantry hs and the hs by the pass thru window in the kitchen. Managers need to hold staff accountable for this. Corrected by education.

(Critical) I found some items on the cook line wells at unsafe temps. Items were stocked in unit this morning. Staff need to work with small batches and be sure foods are 41*f or colder when stocking. Items included italian sausage, cut tomatoes, etc. These items were put into walk in freezer and cooled down to 41*f. Suggest having cooks use thermometers to verify temps are 41*f of below when stocking cold wells. Corrected by cooling down quickly.

(Critical) There was not soap at the bar handsink. Please put up a mounted soap dispenser. I will be back to verify this in 2 weeks.

I observed a few drainflies at the bar. You need to work with your pest company and eliminate them from the store. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify for this.

Health Report - 02/22/2013 (2 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I observed several drain flies at the bar. You need to have a pest control company out to eliminate them from your store. Be sure to follow all of their requirements as far keeping the bar area cleaned and repaired. Save copy of their reciepts for me to observe at follow up inspection. I will be back in 3 weeks to verify flies have been eliminated.

(Critical) The hot water in the employee bathroom only reached 82*f. Must be 100*f or hotter. Have serviced and save copy of work order receipt from the plumber.

You need to get the leak on the plumbing repaired at the handsink in the dishwash area asap.

Health Report - 08/21/2012 (3 critical incident(s))

(Critical) I observed one of the front line chefs re-heating leftover soups and sauces in a steam well warmer. Leftovers must be quickly re-heated to 165*f of more on the stove before stocking in steam well. Corrected by heating on stove. Product had just been brought out of refrigeration

(Critical) One of the prep table units was found holding product at 47* - 49*f on the top cold rail and inside the box. Do not use this unit until it is repaired and you verify it holds foods at 41*f or colder. Staff should have caught this if line checks were done properly. Tighten up your manager line checks. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify unit has been repaired and holding foods 41*f or colder.

(Critical) I observed a dirty knife, a set of dirty tongs and a dirty hand held slicer hung up where cleaned utensils go. Staff need to be thoroughly cleaning and sanitizing utensils. Corrrected by doing such.

I observed a mixer and food processor left dirty. Staff need to remember to clean and sanitize these units and not just clean the bowls. Also, the hood filters were dirty above the wood pizza oven.

The far handsink on the back cook line was observed dirty. Staff need to keep handsinks clean!

Please label your dry goods storage bins with common name of contents.

I observed a few drain flies at the bar. Have your pest company focus on drain fly mitigation in this particular area.

Foods need to be covered when in storage, whether in coolers or in dry storage.

Health Report - 02/14/2012 (4 critical incident(s))

(Critical) A quart of half and half and heavy whipping cream was found stored in a pan on one of the cold wells at 47*f. These items must be held at 41*f or less at all times. Containers of creams must be held inside a reach in cooler to hold at safe temps. They will not hold temp in a pan on a cold well. Corrected by storing inside a reach in cooler.

(Critical) A pan of raw meatballs and raw shell eggs were found stored above ready to eat foods in the walk in cooler. Always store raw animal product below and seperated from any ready to eat foods. Corrected by storing on racks with other raw meats.

(Critical) I observed servers cut lemons/limes with bare hands. Ready to eat foods can have no bare hand contact. Plans are to have drink garnishes pre-cut in the kitchen and servers are to use tongs to get garnishes into bowls. Corrected by doing the above.

(Critical) Your current date marking system is not in compliance with the food code. Opened half and halfs, gallons of milk, deli meats, soft cheeses, cream dessert toppings, and cheese cakes had no date marking on them. You need to post the 7 day maximum use by dates (add 6 days to day of). Plans are to go back to "old" date marking system and stickers. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify a consistent date marking system is in place.

Post a handwash sign at the handsink in the employee restroom.

Bartenders need to be disassembling soda gun nozzles and cleaning and sanitizing them on a daily basis. Also. The storage shelves in the kitchen that you store your pots/pans on are dirty. Clean them more frequently.

Repeat violation 2 times in a row. Once again, the area around the dumpster and wood pile is dirty. Staff need to be keeping this area clean. Put on a routine cleaning schedule.

Health Report - 02/03/2012 (0 critical incident(s))

Observed a case of oranges on the floor in the walk in cooler, keep on racks, not on floor. Corrected

Please organize the bathroom closet. Discard things you are not using and gee everything off the floor. Also, in your office space, get all the cleaning chems off the floor and on a bottom rack.

Health Report - 08/08/2011 (1 critical incident(s))

(Critical) A new water line was installed for filtered water at the server station. This line must be provided with an air gap of at least 1" above the top of the sink basin. I will be back in 2 weeks to verify this has been done.

Repair the dripping faucet at the handsink as you enter the kitchen.

Please clean the dumpster pad and drain more often.

Replace the missing/damaged floor tile on the front service line under a reach in cooler and at the floor drain at the server station area.

Health Report - 02/08/2011 (0 critical incident(s))

Found a non shatter-proof light bulb in one of the main line reach in coolers. Corrected by installing a shatterproof bulb.

The bar floor drain was plugged. Keep it cleaned out so water does not back up on floor when emptying sinks. Corrected.

Repeat violation 2 times. Found a knife wedged between cooler and counter again. Installed 3 knife holders on the cook line. . . . Be sure staff are using them!!!

Found the lasagna spatula in a pan of water. Do not store in this manner. Suggest getting a small steamer for this location and keep spatula in water above 135*f.

The tomato slicer was missing one of the rubber gaskets. Staff were using plastic wrap in lieu of this missing part. Replace missing part.

Health Report - 08/03/2010 (1 critical incident(s))

(Critical) Repeat violation 2 times in a row. Complete the risk control plan and fax to me within 2 weeks. I observed the dishwasher handle soiled kitchenware while loading the dishmachine and then handle clean ware without first washing his hands. It is crucial that dishwashers have clean hands before handling cleaned ware. Corrected by discussing this with the employee.

Repeat violation 2 times in a row!!!! staff are not replacing paper towels after depleting them in the employee restroom. You need to correct this behavior.

Chefs observed wedging knives between coolers and walls, which is unsanitary. Store knives in a protected manner. Plans are to mount another knife holder on the wall in the wood oven area.

Repair the leaking faucet at the bar sink.

I observed "save-a-day" trays that were used from the day before at one of the stations on the front line. Use these trays for a maximum of an hour and throw them out.

You were cited this one a year ago. Do not allow staff to use cloth towels as board stablizers.